Ellis Betwixt By Tweet

Posted: 09/08/2010 by bc in Uncategorized

It seemed harmless enough. Dan Ellis was having trouble with 18% of his income subject to escrow withholding under the CBA and tweeted it. Ellis tweeted, “I can honestly say that I am more stressed about money now than when I was in college.”

The responses poured in. None, not one, nobody, probably not even Bill “I feel your pain” Clinton felt Dan’s pain.

I get Dan Ellis though. I never really worried about money until I had some. Honestly, I never even knew just how little I even thought about money until I had some.

The reaction so far is mostly mockingly sarcastic to outright smack. And these are people who follow Dan Ellis on Twitter. These people are his fans or at the very least people who have an interest in him and what he does.

So I turn to Retired Hockey Mom. My always supportive, always understanding bride of 25 consecutive years. Nope. She laughed herself to tears shooting out one liners for a solid ten minutes.

Over the years, I’ve learned a couple-few things about money.

If you have some, STFU about it.

Look like you might have some money and the price of everything goes up.

Talk about money and everybody figures you’re on a hustle.

Complain about having money to your priest or pastor and you get a lecture on giving more to the church. Complain to your lawyer or therapist and the hourly rate or co-pay amount goes up.

And never, ever tweet to 12,000 people, “Being a millionaire isn’t all it’s cracked up to be” and expect any understanding. Go figure.

Leave a Reply

