Thank you Rusty

Posted: 09/08/2011 by bc in Uncategorized

It’s 2:11a.m. and I just read the news. Former Duck Ruslan Salei was on the plane that crashed in Yaroslval, Russia taking the lives of a pro hockey team, its coaches and other support staff, significant others and friends. Personally, I don’t do tragedy well. I get angry. Real angry. Eventually, anger morphs into helplessness and finally, acknowledgment. I never quite get to acceptance

So, here are two links that will give you a sense of Rusty Salei the  hockey player and more importantly, the man.

Comments
  1. czhokej says:

    Among the victims there were also three Czech players, Rachunek, Marek and Vasicek. And Slovak Demitra. It’s so difficult to find words……

  2. bbdux93 says:

    Being a sports fan, like many of us, I somehow have the impression I know my favorite players and yet what I really know is only their performance persona. Ruslan Salei was always one of my favorites. I admired his dependability, he did his job. He wasn’t a splashy guy, no headliner here, just someone to depend upon game in and game out – Wow how great is that!

    When he left us and became a member of another team I had problems with that. For me he always was and always will be a Duck. Now he “wears” another uniform but for me that didn’t change a thing – he’s still a Duck. God speed Rusty, for you and all of your companions.

  3. What a sad story about that plane crash in Russia and for KHL team Lokomotiv. RIP.

Leave a Reply

