Quick Hits

Posted: 10/11/2011 by bc in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

Brian McGratton has been claimed off waivers by the Nashville Predators. Do we owe them one or what? After picking us clean in the playoffs now they’re picking off our depth guys. Jeez.

OCR’s Jeff Miller reported this gem from Coach Carlyle, “I see nothing wrong with two guys at the same level if they chose to drop the gloves,” Carlyle said. “When there’s a mismatch as far as the level of player…Dubinsky’s a pretty good player, and so is Corey Perry. If it’s a different level of player fighting a more skilled player then I look at it differently.”

Coach gets an Elmer for elevating Brandon Dubinsky to the level of Corey Perry.

You know reporters and bloggers are drilling dry dirt when they post our PP is 0 for 11 after two games. Big whoop. Absolutely no cause for concern with our PP. What is worthy of concern is that our guys weren’t ready to go in either game. There is something going on with the process of being ready to go when the puck drops. The PP is a symptom, not the problem.

If you wondered why Jake Newton didn’t make it with our Ducks look no further in what he told Syracuse.com’s Lindsay Kramer:

“I don’t know if the Ducks matched my style of play,” he said. “I think they had an unrealistic goal for what they wanted Jake Newton to be. I think they were expecting much more from me in that (physical) respect, and I lost sight of what got me to this position.

“I got so focused on playing a physical game that I got away from my offensive habits. I’m expected to play physical. I think throughout last year I struggled to please the organization. I disappointed a lot of people, including myself. I knew what they were saying, I watched video. But I feel like you either have it or you don’t in that respect.

“I’ve never been overly physical. It’s just not who I am. I’ve always just seen myself as an offensive defenseman who moves the puck, shoots well, plays physical when need be.”

From the frying pan into fire, Avs traded Cumiskey because their L_O_D_I_D with smallish and quick offensive prospects.  They’ll be looking to mold Jake into playing a more physical game.

Newton’s experience heightens my fear Kurtis Foster will quickly find Coach Carlyle’s doghouse.

Our Ducks and the NHL in conjunction with USA Hockey is offering a new program called FlexxCoach. It’s a great source for drills and tips for players at all ages and skill levels.

Expect a slow Ducks news week until Thursday when I get up the PreGamePostUp.

Comments
  1. czhokej says:

    I believe that we are losing too many players because they do not agree with RC 100%, because they say something “politically incorrect”.

  2. ffe155 says:

    Looks like the Ducks are putting a lot more emphasis on team speed. It was great to see the 3rd and 4th liners blowing by the Rangers last weekend AND Torterella shortening his bench while the Ducks continued to roll three lines. No more big immobile pylons like Sutton.

  3. czhokej says:

    We will see against the redesigned Sharks. They are a little bit bigger and younger, and we should be faster. Can we capitalize on that?
    We started playing puck possession style some time ago, but without attacking the net it did not bring too much success (until Perry transformed himself into a net-crushing and scoring force).

Leave a Reply

