Ducks sign Viktor Fasth

Posted: 05/22/2012 by bc in Uncategorized

Our Ducks appear to have solidified the backup goaltender position. Fasth 29, something of a late bloomer, has won the Honken Trophy as Swedish Elite League #1 goalie two consecutive years. The last guy to do that is NY Rangers goalie Henrik Lundqvist.
At the 2012 IIHF Men’s Tourney Fasth backstopped Sweden to a 4-2 finish and recorded two shuouts.
He’ll compete with Jeff Deslauriers who has one way contract. Deslauriers could be sent to the AHL but he’ll have to clear waivers first. Dan Ellis is expected to leave as an UFA. 
Europeans often require a season or two adapting to North America. If Fasth makes it our Ducks wil be set in goal for at least a decade as 18 year old 2011 39th overall Entry Draft pick John Gibson continues to impress.

Comments
  1. czhokej says:

    That’s a good news. Fasth is 20 years old and played 6 games for Sweden at the World Championships, with 90.9 save %.

  2. czhokej says:

    I apologize guys, he was born 1982. I do not know where I got the wrong info. It was my careless mistake, not a typo.

  3. czhokej says:

    I think I got that wrong info from an European newspaper, and was too lazy to double-check. I plead guilty and I am offering my remorse.

Leave a Reply

