Don’t say no, Doc

Posted: 07/21/2012 by bc in Uncategorized

Kate Hepburn once shared, “Aging isn’t for the faint of heart.” Yesterday was 2 years and 50 some odd days since I nearly bought the farm from respiratory arrest. It’s six months less since a series of strokes and afib had me on a heart monitor for a couple of weeks.
It’s been baby steps since but 60 days ago Doc said, “You’ve turned the corner.”
Well okay, then. So maybe I could get healthy enough to step out on the ice with a bunch of 50-60 somethings? Maybe shag some pucks and pass on something to a kid willing to hear it from an old guy?
Back in the day, about 15 years ago, I gave up coaching when I could no longer demonstrate. I just never wanted to be one of those whistle blowing holler type “Do what I say, not what I can’t do” kinda guys.
Things in our lives don’t change much though. When entering a rink the nostrils still flare and the mind alerts as the cold air ripples through the sinus and excites the cardiovascular system. It feels like a horse itching to bolt from the confines of the corral.
With taking to the ice again the goal, about 6-8 days ago I added a degree of difficulty to the daily mile walk. The pace is quick enough that I break a sweat at the quarter-mile mark. At the half mile I start jogging 400 feet. Equal to one trip up and back, end board to end board. I didn’t have it to go the 60-80 feet back to the bench. As every player knows, you don’t complete the third trip.
Wind sprints are the best dry land training you can do for hockey. For a young player, exploding in bursts and dialing it back is best. Go for a ratio of 2 to 1. A 20 yard burst 10 yard jog for 2 miles in 12 minutes is or was in my day, the recommended goal.
Proudly, I tell the Doc how I split the walk into a walk 1/2 mile – jog 400′ – walk half mile. He asked, “Are you nuts? Walk! Don’t run.” My heart sank. Walked out with my head firmly tucked into my chest.
In the car afterward, Retired Hockey Mom says, “You have to listen to Steve. Pick up the pace of your walk but don’t run.” Hmm…oh yeah,  that’s doable. Just don’t say stepping back out onto the ice with a bunch of the best guys in the world can’t be the next realistic goal in this 2 year-long rehab. Just don’t say no, Doc. Oh, and lastly, ” Thanks Babe :)”

Comments
  1. tearingitup says:

    Docs love to tell people what to do…they do not know everything. I can encourage the baby steps before the gigantor steps. I can share your desire. After a 14 year contract, I do not think Shea Weber will have anything over you. Keep it up

    • bc says:

      Shea will pay a much higher physical price through 2026 than I ever did. A teammate once said of me, “You’re too smart to be a great hockey player.” Kind of a backhanded compliment. I hope it was true.
      Always felt I was better coach than player. After 5 years in SCAHA, they told me that 18 kids I had coached for a year or longer went on to earn NCAA scholarships. That’s pretty cool.

  2. czhokej says:

    Stay healthy my friend! We do not need jogging at our age.

  3. yougetoutwhatyouputin says:

    This quote seems to always help me get through challenging times:

    What lies behind us and what lies before us
    are tiny matters compared to what lies within us.
    Ralph Waldo Emerson

    However, we need the almighty to help us get through our journey…For with God nothing shall be impossible, Luke 1:37. Hence your awesome recovery…all the best!

Leave a Reply

