Stanley Cup Will Be In The Inland Empire This Weekend (9/2)

Posted: 08/27/2012 by yougetoutwhatyouputin in Uncategorized

Hey hockey fans the Stanley Cup will be in the Inland Empire this weekend at Ayres Hotel and Suites at the Ontario Convention Center. This is an event sponsored by the minor league team affiliate  (that almost became a Vancouver affiliate just a season ago), Ontario Reign…good minor league hockey…these guys work hard for just the opportunity!

“The function will last from 1 p.m. to 3 p.m. The Cup will be on display in the lobby of the hotel, and Reign team photographer Lee Calkins will take photos that will be offered for sale online later”.

Refer to these links for additional information:

http://blog.pe.com/jim-alexander/2012/08/24/stanley-cup-its-headed-for-ontario/

http://www.ontarioreign.com/news/teamnews/index.html?article_id=1513

Comments
  1. That’s awesome! I wish I could be able to see the Cup in person. I always read about people who have the Cup for a day and think about how cool that would be if that was me.

    • yougetoutwhatyouputin says:

      The Cup is an amazing trophy…if you are ever in the Toronto area the HHOF has the Cup on display (you can touch it and caress it, I did, LOL!)…Toronto is also a great City to visit.

      Idea Alert: What do you think about this? The NHL should consider auctioning the Stanley Cup annually for a day as a charity event…it would be great exposure for the game and all the proceeds would go towards a worthy cause.

      • That sounds great. Never been to Toronto but the HHOF sounds amazing. That’s a great idea. An easy way for both fans and the NHL to be happy. NHL makes money, fans are happy. Great idea yougetwhatyouputin. I love it.

  2. bc says:

    Definitely U, Hockey Fights Cancer is the likely beneficiary.
    News is in the Vancouver area? He could have a long wait on the Cup arriving at GM Place 🙂 I kinda hope they do. Every once in a while I post on a VanFan board and the banter is always fun. The Knuckleheads are great fans. Maybe next season we’ll share those threads.

    I’m envious of people who touch it. I still hold to the dream that one day I’ll earn the right as part of a winning org. I tried to touch it but couldn’t bring myself to actually do it.

    • yougetoutwhatyouputin says:

      That would be a great charity…Let’s get a group together to pony up “10K for a Day with the Cup” petition, LOL!

      Those Nucks love their hockey…Seems everyone in Canada loves to see them fail, LOL!

      I understand your need to earn the Cup in order to touch it, I ounce believed it as well. However, I have come to the realization that the true victory is the journey and the perseverance (as long as the refs swallow their whistles, LOL!) needed to get your name on the Cup. The Cup is just a symbol of the result. Therefore, I have no problem touching it as it is just that, touching it. The cups superstitions (touching it without earning it or touching the conference trophy prior to whining the Cup, etc…) hold very little weight. I look at this way; seize the moment (Carpe Diem) as it may never return. Is it better to have never touched it at all? That’s my spin on it.

      • bc says:

        Oh yeah U. I’m totally cool and understand anybody touching the Cup. What’s right for me isn’t right for everybody else. And yeah, madprops on your personal journey to the Cup. Jeez, you earned the right to touch it just by your love for the game. I never meant to suggest that your personal journey to the Cup wasn’t valid.

      • yougetoutwhatyouputin says:

        No problem…I didn’t take it that way at all…I was just offering my spin on it.

Leave a Reply

