Dan Sexton traded to Tampa Bay Lightning

Posted: 03/11/2013 by bc in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Okay big whoop. The kid we affectionately tagged “Big Sexy” turned out to be a career minor leaguer. He deserves a footnote rather than a post.

Except I can’t get out of my head those 20 or so games when he stood in for an injured Teemu Selanne, alongside Saku Koivu and Bobby Ryan and helped keep our Ducks advancing. Many of us thought he might be at least part of the answer to the long sought after secondary scoring dilemma that challenged Ducks management.

Jeez, I compared him to Martin St. Louis. Then again, I’m a sucker for a good underdog story.

But the play I’ll always remember Dan Sexton for fondly was the game in which he tied up Wild enforcer Derek Boogaard in knots, deked the big enforcer out of his shorts, twisted him up like a big pretzel and moved the puck out of our zone. Just like he was Andrew Cogliano. Embarrassed at being made to look foolish, Boogaard went after Big Sexy and Ducks D-man Nick Boynton stepped in and obliged him. No doubt saving Big Sexy from certain harm,  unless of course Boogaard might have never touched him. Sexton is just that quick.

Sexton will get a chance with a new org that has had enjoyed success with smaller men in the lineup. He may forever be a career minor league player but one I’ll remember fondly.

In a trade of players needing a change of scenery Ducks got back 28-year-old 6’2″ 200# center Kyle Wilson.

Notes: Ducks have recalled Patrick Maroon and Devante Smith-Pelly from Norfolk. Former Duck Steve Montador has been placed on waivers by the Chicago Blackhawks. If Monty clears waivers his next stop will be ‘Hawks minor league affiliate in Rockford.

Comments
  1. bbdux93 says:

    I don’t remember Sexy turning Boogarrd into a pretzel but like bc I hoped he would be good enough to play in the “Big Show”.

    • bc says:

      Tried to find the video clip but no luck bb. Everything about Dan Sexton brought a smile to me. Can you imagine being called “Sexy” in a room full of guys, Jeez that’s funny.

  2. czhokej says:

    I remember it quite well. He actually body checked Boogy and sent him down on one occasion.
    I hope he will get a chance to prove himself. I thought he was a talented hockey player and a good skater (Kariya like). But competition is stiff and smaller players do not have the same opportunity (in wrestling, pushing, and physical plays) as the big guys. They may get more injuries too – I remember Sexton was injured. Does it have to do anything with his performance?

  3. I vividly remember a shift (must have been the third period) where Sexy brought the puck in the right side, got a couple of shots on net, then tracked it down near the left point circled at mid-ice with it, re-entered the right and got two or three more shots on goal on that same shift. The crowd was going wild. I always wished he’d make it back up. I have two large autographed photos of him in my office among my Ducks treasures. This guy was nails. I hope he makes it with TB.

Leave a Reply

