Russo captures the feeling of Ducks fans

Posted: 05/14/2013 by bc in Uncategorized

Here’s an excerpt:

In all honesty, it felt like someone had ripped out my heart, stomped on it, then tossed it onto the ice, where someone else promptly emerged from the Zamboni tunnel with a cold, metal shovel, quickly scooped it up and threw it into a trash bin.

You can read the rest of Jenelyn Ruusso’s, When Exceeding Expectations Still Brings Heatbreak  here.

Now that we’ve shown empathy for your broken heart, if want to get real angry take on this Ducks Eulogy from Puck Dufous.

Comments
  1. jenelynrusso says:

    Thanks for the link back. I appreciate it.

    Interesting that you picked that part to quote. Those were my thoughts as I walked out of Honda Center that night. I built the entire post around those words.

  2. czhokej says:

    I had nightmares and I had to tell myself repeatedly that it’s only a game, not a life changing tragedy.

  3. bilverado says:

    Jenelyn said: “I may be over simplifying this, but I will tell you that on Sunday night, I saw a Red Wings team that played better than the Ducks, and beat them.” I think it is as simple as that in Game 7. They beat us in the battles. They beat us on the boards. They beat us to the puck. They beat us on the scoreboard. They simply beat us.

    As for the “Eulogy” post, if you take away the snarkiness, there is a lot of truth in the post, and as is often the case, the truth hurts.

    • bc says:

      Yeah on Jenelyn bilverado. Bob Murray echoed her sentiment when he said, “They schooled us.”

      I dunno about the Puck Daddy slant. The video was one brief moment. Seemed to me that both Getz and Pears showed a lot of growth in the maturity department this season and playoff. More may be needed but Getz definitely took some big steps.

  4. czhokej says:

    Playoffs are difficult for the top line, because so much is expected from them. They did not deliver. Getzlaf had some good moments, Bobby a few, but not enough. Perry did not show up most of the time. But there were others who did not perform well.

  5. jenelynrusso says:

    I didn’t address Getzlaf’s growth this season, but he has made extraordinary progress in his role as captain of this team. I was one of those who was wary when he was first given the position. I didn’t think he was ready and had too many major life changes occurring at the time (new marriage, new baby). But I’ve seen glimpses of real growth in him this year. That’s a good thing.

  6. yougetoutwhatyouputin says:

    Well written Russo…that is exactly how I feel. I feel shell shocked hence my avoidance from the game since Sunday…one week to regroup +/- a couple of days, LOL! I want this team to succeed and not become the Kings shadow. In all honesty I am glad we are not playing the So-Cal series as IMO it would have created more harm than good, at least for us. The Wings exposed our weaknesses and the Kings would have polished us off… Murray and BB understand what needs to happen for us to field a competitive playoff team. I hope we get our answers…Looking forward to the day we become an organization that routinely makes the playoffs and wreaks havoc on the opposition.

    • jenelynrusso says:

      Completely agree here. I was one of the few not looking forward to the Freeway Playoff Series. It would have been brutal.

Leave a Reply

